Search
Contact
ESG
Sustainable corporate strategies for greater responsibility.

Sustainability and social responsibility as a corporate strategy – as a result of numerous legislative initiatives and a supreme court decision, Environment, Social, Governance (ESG) has become a highly topical issue in politics and business. The relevance of ESG is therefore increasing and with it the need for consulting in this area.

The goal is clear: companies should take greater responsibility for their actions. Thus, sustainable management also determines the competitiveness of

companies, as sustainability is increasingly perceived as a critical success factor by business partners, customers and potential investors.

At KPMG Law, we combine our expertise in the relevant legal areas to advise and support you – together with the experts at KPMG AG Wirtschaftsprüfungsgesellschaft – in the development of a sustainable corporate strategy from an ESG perspective.

Consulting focus

  • Procurement

    The legal requirements regarding the consideration of sustainability criteria in procurement, for example as a result of the recent amendments to the Federal Climate Protection Act, and the expectations regarding the exemplary function of the public sector are increasing. This increases the complexity of award procedures enormously. We support you in integrating environmental and social aspects into the purchasing and procurement process in a legally compliant manner and in reconciling them with profitability goals.

  • Supply Chain

    As a result of current legal developments, companies are increasingly required by law to comply with due diligence obligations – especially from a human rights and environmental perspective – in their supply chain and to ensure this through an appropriate management system. We advise companies on the legally compliant design and implementation of a supply chain compliance management system and its efficient integration into the existing governance organization. This reduces sanction and liability risks.

  • Sustainable Finance

    The market for green financing is growing. However, regulation in this area is complex and poses major challenges for the financial industry. In addition to traditional green financing, sustainability-linked loans have now also increasingly conquered the German financial market. In some cases, there are already recommendations for best practice, but no green finance standard exists yet. At KPMG Law, we can also advise you with comprehensive expertise on all legal issues relating to sustainable finance.

  • ESG Due Diligence and M&A

    Sustainability is also perhaps the biggest megatrend in the investment industry. As a result, corporate ESG performance – especially legal compliance with sustainability requirements – is moving into the focus of investors and executives. We have developed Legal ESG Due Diligence to meet our clients’ growing need for advice in this forward-looking market. This can be booked as an individual service or as a component of a standard legal due diligence or IPO readiness assessment.

  • Product Compliance

    Manufacturers, importers and distributors of products must ensure that their products comply with the applicable legal requirements. We support companies in positioning themselves in a legally secure manner in relation to the relevant and usually frequently changing product law requirements – throughout the entire product life cycle. This reduces product liability risks and strengthens customer confidence in the products.

  • Human rights and diversity

    ESG criteria also apply to supply chains. Compliance with human rights is an essential expectation of contractual partners and end consumers, particularly in the context of international manufacturing and production processes. We support you in taking all necessary measures to avoid the violation of human rights in your area of responsibility.

    Another consideration from an ESG perspective is diversity. Diversity does not just mean avoiding discrimination against individuals or entire groups of people on the basis of certain criteria. It is also and above all a matter of making positive use of the personnel and social diversity that exists in your company and thus leveraging existing potential. Whether, for example, recruiting, remuneration transparency or opening up career paths – we at KPMG Law provide you with comprehensive support in being a modern and open employer.

  • ESG Corporate Governance

    In the course of sustainability efforts and the assumption of social responsibility, the expectations of a company’s management and monitoring tasks are also changing. Our ESG Corporate Governance realigns corporate processes on the basis of sustainability criteria or social and human rights aspects, either in a value-creating or accompanying manner. This can reduce liability risks and reputational damage.

  • Business Continuity Management

  • Energy and environmental law

    Protecting the environment and climate is the central challenge of our time. In this context, energy and environmental law has gained enormous relevance in recent years and at the same time is subject to constant changes according to European and national regulations. At KPMG Law, we provide comprehensive advice on all aspects of energy supply and generation, climate protection subsidy programs, hydrogen generation and all topics related to electromobility.

  • Construction and Real Estate

    In view of the fact that energy-related CO2 emissions currently account for around 40 percent of the total, the issue of climate protection will be of immense concern to the real estate industry in the coming decades. The regulations for this are already complex and will permanently change the real estate sector. Thus, the sustainability of real estate will increasingly influence the real estate market and thus form the future focus for investors as well as influence financing conditions. Sustainable redevelopment will enjoy special public support and will be the economic goal of stockholders, helping to shape community development. At KPMG Law, we offer comprehensive real estate legal advice combined with cutting-edge PropTech and ConTech tools to successfully navigate the existing and expanding complexities of this topic – for our shared sustainable future.

Publications

The ESG-led legal function of the future – How can legal support business?

How legal departments can add value to their business on the topic of ESG

Leading the Way: ESG Practices in Legal Departments 2023/24

The first ESG Survey for Legal Departments by KPMG Law

The public sector has so far engaged in inadequate climate protection

There is a need for action on the part of states, cities and municipalities for more climate protection, otherwise there is a threat of risks. Our whitepaper provides recommendations.

Public construction – sustainable climate-friendly

To meet climate targets, emissions in the building sector must be reduced by over 43 percent in the current decade. This requires high investments, new materials and new building technology. We show how the law can be used to address these challenges

Sustainable public procurement

Training to educate procuring entities to contribute to strengthening sustainability through public procurement and to fulfill legal obligations.

#more information?

At our cooperation partner KPMG AG Wirtschaftsprüfungsgesellschaft, you will find further information on the topic of “The public sector has been doing an inadequate job of climate protection so far”.

This way

Your contact persons

Anne-Kathrin Gillig

Partner
Frankfurt am Main Site Manager
Head of Compliance and Business Criminal Law

THE SQUAIRE Am Flughafen
60549 Frankfurt am Main

tel: +49 69 951195013
agillig@kpmg-law.com

Dr. Moritz Püstow

Partner
Solution Line Head Public Sector
Head of Public Law and Environmental Social Governance (ESG)

Klingelhöferstraße 18
10785 Berlin

tel: +49 30 530199129
mpuestow@kpmg-law.com

© 2024 KPMG Law Rechtsanwaltsgesellschaft mbH, associated with KPMG AG Wirtschaftsprüfungsgesellschaft, a public limited company under German law and a member of the global KPMG organisation of independent member firms affiliated with KPMG International Limited, a Private English Company Limited by Guarantee. All rights reserved. For more details on the structure of KPMG’s global organisation, please visit https://home.kpmg/governance.

 KPMG International does not provide services to clients. No member firm is authorised to bind or contract KPMG International or any other member firm to any third party, just as KPMG International is not authorised to bind or contract any other member firm.

Scroll

Suche
Contact
ESG
Nachhaltige Unternehmensstrategien für mehr Verantwortung.

Nachhaltigkeit und soziale Verantwortung als Unternehmensstrategie – durch zahlreiche Gesetzesinitiativen und eine höchstrichterliche Entscheidung ist Environment, Social, Governance (ESG) zu einem hochaktuellen Thema in Politik und Wirtschaft geworden. Die Relevanz von ESG nimmt deshalb zu und damit auch der Beratungsbedarf in diesem Bereich.

Das Ziel ist klar: Unternehmen sollen verstärkt Verantwortung für ihr Handeln übernehmen. Somit bestimmt nachhaltiges Wirtschaften auch über die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit von

Unternehmen, da Sustainability zunehmend als kritischer Erfolgsfaktor von Geschäftspartnern, Kund:innen und auch potenziellen Investoren wahrgenommen wird.

Wir von KPMG Law bündeln unsere Kompetenz in den hierfür relevanten Rechtsgebieten, um Sie – gemeinsam mit den Expert:innen der KPMG AG Wirtschaftsprüfungsgesellschaft – bei der Entwicklung einer nachhaltigen Unternehmensstrategie unter ESG-Aspekten zu beraten und unterstützen.

Beratungs­schwer­punkte

  • Beschaffung

    Die rechtlichen Anforderungen hinsichtlich der Berücksichtigung von Nachhaltigkeitskriterien in der Beschaffung, etwa durch die jüngsten Änderungen des Bundesklimaschutzgesetzes, und die Erwartungen an die Vorbildfunktion der öffentlichen Hand nehmen zu. Die Komplexität von Vergabeverfahren steigert sich dadurch enorm. Wir unterstützen Sie dabei, umweltbezogene und soziale Aspekte rechtskonform in den Einkaufs- und Beschaffungsprozess einzubeziehen und mit Wirtschaftlichkeitszielen in Einklang zu bringen.

  • Supply Chain

    Durch aktuelle Rechtsentwicklungen werden Unternehmen zunehmend gesetzlich verpflichtet, Sorgfaltspflichten – vor allem unter menschenrechtlichen und umweltbezogenen Gesichtspunkten – in ihrer Lieferkette einzuhalten und dies durch ein entsprechendes Managementsystem sicherzustellen. Wir beraten Unternehmen bei der rechtssicheren Konzeptionierung und Implementierung eines Lieferketten-Compliance-Management-Systems und bei dessen effizienter Integration in die bestehende Governance-Organisation. Dadurch werden Sanktions- und Haftungsrisiken reduziert.

  • Sustainable Finance

    Der Markt für Grüne Finanzierungen wächst. Die Regulierung in diesem Bereich ist jedoch komplex und stellt die Finanzbranche vor große Herausforderungen. Neben den klassischen Grünen Finanzierungen haben inzwischen auch die sogenannten Sustainability Linked Loans verstärkt den deutschen Finanzmarkt erobert. Zum Teil gibt es bereits Empfehlungen zu einer Best Practice , aber bislang existiert noch kein Green Finance-Standard. Wir von KPMG Law beraten Sie mit umfassender Expertise auch zu allen rechtlichen Themen rund um Sustainable Finance.

  • ESG Due Diligence und M&A

    Nachhaltigkeit ist auch in der Investmentbranche der vielleicht größte Megatrend. Damit rückt die ESG-Performance von Unternehmen – insbesondere die rechtliche Compliance mit Nachhaltigkeitsanforderungen – in den Fokus von Investoren und Führungskräften. Um den steigenden Beratungsbedarf unserer Mandanten in diesem zukunftsweisenden Markt zu decken, haben wir die Legal ESG Due Diligence entwickelt. Diese kann als Einzelleistung oder als Baustein einer marktüblichen Legal Due Diligence bzw. eines IPO Readiness Assessments gebucht werden.

  • Produkt-Compliance

    Hersteller, Importeure und Inverkehrbringer von Produkten müssen sicherstellen, dass ihre Produkte den jeweils gültigen rechtlichen Vorgaben entsprechen. Wir unterstützen Unternehmen dabei, sich gegenüber den relevanten und üblicherweise häufig ändernden produktrechtlichen Anforderungen rechtssicher aufzustellen – und zwar über den gesamten Produktlebenszyklus hinweg. Dadurch werden produktrechtliche Haftungsrisiken reduziert und das Vertrauen der Kund:innen in die Produkte gestärkt.

  • Menschenrechte und Diversity

    ESG-Kriterien betreffen auch die Lieferketten. So ist die Einhaltung der Menschenrechte insbesondere im Rahmen von international ablaufenden Herstellungs- und Fertigungsprozessen eine wesentliche Erwartung von Vertragspartnern und Endverbraucher:innen. Wir unterstützen Sie dabei, alle erforderlichen Maßnahmen zu ergreifen, um in Ihrem Verantwortungsbereich die Verletzung von Menschenrechten zu vermeiden.

    Ein weiterer Gesichtspunkt unter ESG-Aspekten ist Diversity. Diversity bedeutet nicht nur, Diskriminierungen einzelner Personen oder gesamter Personengruppen aufgrund bestimmter Kriterien zu vermeiden. Es geht auch und vor allem darum, die in Ihrem Unternehmen vorhandene personelle und soziale Vielfalt positiv zu nutzen und damit vorhandene Potenziale zu heben. Ob beispielsweise Recruiting, Entgelttransparenz oder die Öffnung von Karrierewegen – wir von KPMG Law unterstützen Sie umfassend dabei, ein moderner und offener Arbeitgeber zu sein.

  • ESG Corporate Governance

    Im Zuge von Nachhaltigkeitsbestrebungen und der Übernahme von sozialer Verantwortung ändern sich auch die Erwartungen an die Führungs- und Überwachungsaufgaben eines Unternehmens. Unsere ESG Corporate Governance nimmt anhand von Nachhaltigkeitskriterien oder Sozial- und Menschenrechtsaspekten eine Neujustierung der Unternehmensprozesse, entweder wertschöpfend oder begleitend, vor. Dadurch lassen sich Haftungsrisiken und Reputationsschäden vermindern.

  • Business Continuity Management

  • Energie- und Umweltrecht

    Der Schutz von Umwelt und Klima ist die zentrale Herausforderung unserer Zeit. In diesem Zusammenhang hat das Energie- und Umweltrecht in den vergangenen Jahren enorm an Relevanz gewonnen und ist gleichzeitig stetigen Veränderungen nach europarechtlichen und nationalen Vorgaben unterworfen. Wir von KPMG Law beraten Sie umfassend in allen Fragen der Energieversorgung und -erzeugung, zu Klimaschutz-Förderprogrammen, zur Wasserstofferzeugung und zu allen Themen rund um die Elektromobilität.

  • Construction und Real Estate

    Angesichts eines Anteils von derzeit circa 40 Prozent an den energiebedingten CO2-Emissionen wird das Thema Klimaschutz die Immobilienwirtschaft in den nächsten Jahrzehnten immens beschäftigen. Die Regularien hierfür sind bereits jetzt komplex und werden den Real-Estate-Sektor dauerhaft verändern. So wird die Nachhaltigkeit von Immobilien zunehmend den Immobilienmarkt beeinflussen und damit den künftigen Fokus für Investoren bilden sowie Finanzierungskonditionen beeinflussen. Nachhaltige Sanierung wird besondere öffentliche Förderung genießen und das wirtschaftliche Ziel der Bestandshalter sein und damit die kommunale Entwicklung mitprägen. Wir von KPMG Law bieten Ihnen umfassende immobilienrechtliche Beratung in Verbindung mit modernsten PropTech- und ConTech-Tools, um die bereits bestehende und sich erweiternde Komplexität dieses Themas erfolgreich zu durchdringen – für unsere gemeinsame nachhaltige Zukunft.

Ihre Ansprechpartner

Anne-Kathrin Gillig

Partner
Standortleiterin Frankfurt am Main

THE SQUAIRE Am Flughafen
60549 Frankfurt am Main

tel: +49 69 951195013
agillig@kpmg-law.com

Dr. Moritz Püstow

Partner
Solution Line Head Public Sector
Leiter Öffentliches Recht und Environmental Social Governance (ESG)

Klingelhöferstraße 18
10785 Berlin

tel: +49 30 530199129
mpuestow@kpmg-law.com

© 2022 KPMG Law Rechtsanwaltsgesellschaft mbH, assoziiert mit der KPMG AG Wirtschaftsprüfungsgesellschaft, einer Aktiengesellschaft nach deutschem Recht und ein Mitglied der globalen KPMG-Organisation unabhängiger Mitgliedsfirmen, die KPMG International Limited, einer Private English Company Limited by Guarantee, angeschlossen sind. Alle Rechte vorbehalten. Für weitere Einzelheiten über die Struktur der globalen Organisation von KPMG besuchen Sie bitte https://home.kpmg/governance.

KPMG International erbringt keine Dienstleistungen für Kunden. Keine Mitgliedsfirma ist befugt, KPMG International oder eine andere Mitgliedsfirma gegenüber Dritten zu verpflichten oder vertraglich zu binden, ebenso wie KPMG International nicht autorisiert ist, andere Mitgliedsfirmen zu verpflichten oder vertraglich zu binden.

Scroll