Search
Contact

Banking

Competence, innovative power and implementation strength for the banking sector.

The financial industry is in a state of upheaval, as topics such as digitalization and sustainability, as well as increasingly complex regulation and innovative business models such as cryptocurrencies, present the banking sector with enormous challenges. That’s why we offer a multidisciplinary and practice-oriented consulting approach based on extensive industry knowledge.

We provide comprehensive advice to credit institutions, securities institutions, payment and e-money institutions, leasing companies, market infrastructure providers as well as other financial services institutions and furthermore to their boards, shareholders, contractual partners and other stakeholders on issues of German and European banking and financial supervisory law as well as on financing issues.

With our multidisciplinary approach, we also support our clients in corporate law, M&A transactions, IT and data protection law.

If required, we develop cost-effective, customized solutions and processes together with our market-leading Legal Process & Technology team and a team specializing in legal tasks in our Shared Delivery Center.

Consulting focus

  • Banking and financial supervision law

    We advise you on all issues of German and European banking and financial supervisory law. This includes, among other things, the analysis of licensing requirements, the support of licensing applications, the establishment of branches in Germany and abroad, the appointment and dismissal of management and supervisory boards, the issuance and structuring of equity instruments, and advice on outsourcing projects, including the drafting and negotiation of contracts.

    In addition to the implementation of new regulatory requirements, our wide-ranging expertise also includes the support of owner control procedures. In addition, we advise with an experienced team on questions of compensation regulation. Within the scope of our activities, we are in regular exchange with German and European financial supervisory authorities.

    In crisis situations, we advise our clients as part of integrated teams on restructuring, reorganization and, if necessary, liquidation or insolvency.

  • Bank Civil Law

    We provide comprehensive advice on all banking law issues. This includes, in particular, the clarification of issues of civil law relating to banking and the drafting of contractual terms and conditions for products and services under banking law.

    We also advise on the defense of mass actions as well as on complex disputes and litigation. Particularly in mass cases, we take on the adaptation and negotiation of customer contracts, for example with regard to regulatory changes or new court rulings. In doing so, we use technology-based solutions that promise to increase efficiency.

  • Compliance, data protection, money laundering and anti-financial crime

    Our range of consulting services in the area of compliance extends to, among other things, conducting and supporting external and internal audits and investigations, implementing new legal requirements, and providing comprehensive advice on data protection issues. We also have in-depth expertise in issues relating to money laundering law, including the optimization of client onboarding, as well as in issues relating to anti-financial crime and financial sanctions.

  • Digitization and Payments

    We advise you on all issues relating to digitization and payments. This includes, among other things, comprehensive advice on digitized and innovative products and business models, as well as advice on the digitization of customer onboarding, including issues relating to KYC processes and electronic signatures.

    Furthermore, we provide comprehensive support for outsourcing, including IT outsourcing and the use of cloud solutions. Further focal points of our consulting spectrum are legal issues around digital assets as well as consulting on the topics of Payments, ZAG, PSD2, Open Banking and cooperations between established institutions and FinTechs.

  • Financial law, bank finance and structured finance

    We offer comprehensive legal advice on all financing issues. This includes, among other things, the drafting and negotiation of financing and collateral agreements on the part of the bank or the borrower as well as the collateral trustee. We also provide support in the design and negotiation of alternative financing structures such as factoring, debt funds or banking-as-a-service models. We also have in-depth expertise in the design and negotiation of refinancing structures, including securitization.

  • M&A, transactions and outsourcing

    We provide comprehensive advice on corporate acquisitions, restructurings, cooperations, corporate actions, outsourcing and other transactions. In particular, we also advise on M&A transactions involving financially regulated entities. This includes legal due diligence, legal and regulatory structuring, preparation and negotiation of transaction documentation, preparation and support of financial regulatory notification and approval procedures (owner control).

    Furthermore, we support you in capital measures including capital increases and the issuance of AT1 and Tier 2 instruments, in the establishment of subsidiaries and branches in Germany and abroad, in outsourcing projects including outsourcing in the cloud area as well as in restructurings and cooperations.

  • "Extended workbench"

    We support legal departments of banks and other financial institutions in their day-to-day business with the concept of an “extended workbench”. In this way, we are actively meeting the challenge of rising work volumes, increasing regulatory density and the complexity of legal issues coming up against scarce human resources. In addition, we provide support with optimized processes and the use of LegalTech for issues with a high administrative workload as well as repetitive tasks. The legal department can thus better concentrate on its core tasks and core competencies, balance out work peaks and save costs.

Explore #more

17.03.2023 | KPMG Law Insights

MiCAR – What the new EU regulation means for crypto service providers and issuers

Your contact person

Dr. Andreas Wieland

Partner

THE SQUAIRE Am Flughafen
60549 Frankfurt am Main

tel: +49 69 951195848
awieland@kpmg-law.com

© 2024 KPMG Law Rechtsanwaltsgesellschaft mbH, associated with KPMG AG Wirtschaftsprüfungsgesellschaft, a public limited company under German law and a member of the global KPMG organisation of independent member firms affiliated with KPMG International Limited, a Private English Company Limited by Guarantee. All rights reserved. For more details on the structure of KPMG’s global organisation, please visit https://home.kpmg/governance.

 KPMG International does not provide services to clients. No member firm is authorised to bind or contract KPMG International or any other member firm to any third party, just as KPMG International is not authorised to bind or contract any other member firm.

Scroll

Suche
Contact

Banking

Kompetenz, Innnovationskraft und Umsetzungsstärke für den Bankensektor.

Die Finanzbranche ist im Umbruch, denn Themen wie Digitalisierung und Nachhaltigkeit, aber auch die immer komplexer werdende Regulatorik sowie innovative Geschäftsmodelle wie Kryptowährungen stellen den Bankensektor vor enorme Herausforderungen. Darum bieten wir einen multidisziplinären und praxisorientierten Beratungsansatz, der sich auf umfassende Branchenkenntnis stützt.

Wir beraten Kreditinstitute, Wertpapierinstitute, Zahlungs- und E-Geld-Institute, Leasingunternehmen, Marktinfrastrukturanbieter sowie sonstige Finanzdienstleistungsinstitute und darüber hinaus deren Gremien, Anteilseigner, Vertragspartner und sonstigen Stakeholder umfassend zu Fragen des deutschen und europäischen Bank- und Finanzaufsichtsrechts sowie zu Finanzierungsfragen.

Mit unserem multidisziplinären Ansatz unterstützen wir unsere Mandanten auch im Gesellschaftsrecht, bei M&A-Transaktionen, im IT- sowie im Datenschutzrecht.

Bei Bedarf entwickeln wir kosteneffiziente, maßgeschneiderte Lösungen und Prozesse gemeinsam mit unserem marktführenden Legal Process & Technology-Team sowie einem auf rechtliche Aufgaben spezialisierten Team in unserem Shared Delivery Center.

Beratungs­schwer­punkte

  • Bank- und Finanzaufsichtsrecht

    Wir beraten Sie zu allen Fragen des deutschen und europäischen Bank- und Finanzaufsichtsrechts. Dies umfasst unter anderem die Analyse von Erlaubnispflichten, die Begleitung von Erlaubnisanträgen, die Errichtung von Niederlassungen im In- und Ausland, die Ernennung und Abberufung von Geschäftsleitungen und Aufsichtsräten, die Ausgabe und Ausgestaltung von Eigenmittelinstrumenten sowie die Beratung zu Auslagerungsvorhaben einschließlich der Vertragsgestaltung und -verhandlung.

    Neben der Implementierung neuer regulatorischer Anforderungen gehört auch die Begleitung von Inhaberkontrollverfahren zu unserer weitreichenden Expertise. Darüber hinaus beraten wir mit einem erfahrenen Team zu Fragestellungen der Vergütungsregulatorik. Im Rahmen unserer Tätigkeit stehen wir in regelmäßigem Austausch mit deutschen und europäischen Finanzaufsichtsbehörden.

    In Krisensituationen beraten wir unsere Mandanten als Teil von integrierten Teams zu Restrukturierung, Sanierung und gegebenenfalls Abwicklung oder Insolvenz.

  • Bankzivilrecht

    Wir beraten umfassend zu allen bankrechtlichen Fragen. Dies schließt insbesondere die Klärung bankzivilrechtlicher Fragestellungen und die Gestaltung der Vertragsbedingungen für bankenrechtliche Produkte und Dienstleistungen ein.

    Darüber hinaus beraten wir zur Abwehr von Massenklagen wie auch zu komplexen Streitigkeiten und Prozessen. Insbesondere in Massensachverhalten übernehmen wir die Anpassung und Verhandlung von Kundenverträgen, zum Beispiel im Hinblick auf regulatorische Änderungen oder neue Gerichtsurteile. Hierbei nutzen wir technologiegestützte Lösungen, die einen Effizienzgewinn versprechen.

  • Compliance, Datenschutz, Geldwäsche und Anti-Financial Crime

    Unser Beratungsspektrum im Bereich Compliance erstreckt sich unter anderem auf die Durchführung und Begleitung externer und interner Prüfungen und Untersuchungen, die Implementierung neuer rechtlicher Anforderungen sowie die umfassende Beratung zu Fragen des Datenschutzes. Tiefgreifende Expertise haben wir außerdem in geldwäscherechtlichen Fragestellungen einschließlich der Optimierung des Kunden-Onboardings sowie bei Fragen aus dem Bereich Anti-Financial Crime und Finanzsanktionen.

  • Digitalisierung und Payments

    Wir beraten Sie zu allen Fragen rund um die Themen Digitalisierung und Payments. Dazu gehört unter anderem die umfassende Beratung zu digitalisierten und innovativen Produkten und Geschäftsmodellen sowie die Beratung zur Digitalisierung des Kunden-Onboardings einschließlich Fragen zu KYC-Prozessen und zur elektronischen Signatur.

    Des Weiteren unterstützen wir umfassend bei Auslagerungen einschließlich IT-Auslagerungen und Nutzung von Cloud-Lösungen. Weitere Schwerpunkte unseres Beratungsspektrums sind rechtliche Fragen rund um Digital Assets sowie die Beratung zu den Themen Payments, ZAG, PSD2, Open Banking und Kooperationen zwischen etablierten Instituten und FinTechs.

  • Finanzrecht, Bank Finance und Structured Finance

    Wir bieten umfassende rechtliche Beratung zu allen Finanzierungsfragen. Dies beinhaltet unter anderem die Gestaltung und Verhandlung von Finanzierungs- und Sicherheitenverträgen aufseiten der Bank oder des Darlehensnehmers sowie auch des Sicherheitentreuhänders. Weiterhin unterstützen wir bei der Gestaltung und Verhandlung alternativer Finanzierungsstrukturen wie beispielsweise Factoring, Debt Funds oder Banking-as-a-Service-Modellen. Tiefgreifende Expertise haben wir außerdem in der Gestaltung und Verhandlung von Refinanzierungsstrukturen einschließlich Securitization.

  • M&A, Transaktionen und Outsourcing

    Wir beraten umfassend zu Unternehmenskäufen, Umstrukturierungen, Kooperationen, Kapitalmaßnahmen, Auslagerungen und sonstigen Transaktionen. Insbesondere begleiten wir auch M&A-Transaktionen unter Beteiligung finanzregulierter Unternehmen. Dies schließt die Legal Due Diligence, rechtliche und regulatorische Strukturierung, Erstellung und Verhandlung der Transaktionsdokumentation, Vorbereitung und Begleitung der finanzaufsichtsrechtlichen Anzeige- und Genehmigungsverfahren (Inhaberkontrolle) mit ein.

    Des Weiteren unterstützen wir Sie bei Kapitalmaßnahmen einschließlich Kapitalerhöhungen und der Ausgabe von AT1- und Tier 2-Instrumenten, bei der Errichtung von Tochtergesellschaften und Niederlassungen im In- und Ausland, bei Auslagerungsvorhaben einschließlich Auslagerungen im Cloud-Bereich sowie bei Umstrukturierungen und Kooperationen.

  • "Verlängerte Werkbank"

    Wir unterstützen Rechtsabteilungen von Banken und anderen Finanzinstituten im Tagesgeschäft mit dem Konzept einer „verlängerten Werkbank“. Damit begegnen wir aktiv der Herausforderung, dass steigendes Arbeitsvolumen, zunehmende Regulierungsdichte und Komplexität der Rechtsfragen auf knappe personelle Ressourcen treffen. Außerdem unterstützen wir mit optimierten Abläufen und dem Einsatz von LegalTech bei Themen mit hohem Administrationsaufwand sowie repetitiven Aufgaben. Die Rechtsabteilung kann sich so besser auf ihre Kernaufgaben und Kernkompetenzen konzentrieren, Arbeitsspitzen ausgleichen und Kosten einsparen.

Erfahren Sie, für wieviel mehr #more steht: direkt von unseren Expert:innen.
Auf Klick. In spannenden O-Tönen.

Ihr Ansprechpartner

Dr. Andreas Wieland

Partner

THE SQUAIRE Am Flughafen
60549 Frankfurt am Main

tel: +49 69 951195848
awieland@kpmg-law.com

© 2022 KPMG Law Rechtsanwaltsgesellschaft mbH, assoziiert mit der KPMG AG Wirtschaftsprüfungsgesellschaft, einer Aktiengesellschaft nach deutschem Recht und ein Mitglied der globalen KPMG-Organisation unabhängiger Mitgliedsfirmen, die KPMG International Limited, einer Private English Company Limited by Guarantee, angeschlossen sind. Alle Rechte vorbehalten. Für weitere Einzelheiten über die Struktur der globalen Organisation von KPMG besuchen Sie bitte https://home.kpmg/governance.

KPMG International erbringt keine Dienstleistungen für Kunden. Keine Mitgliedsfirma ist befugt, KPMG International oder eine andere Mitgliedsfirma gegenüber Dritten zu verpflichten oder vertraglich zu binden, ebenso wie KPMG International nicht autorisiert ist, andere Mitgliedsfirmen zu verpflichten oder vertraglich zu binden.

Scroll