Search
Contact

Automotive and New Mobility

Well equipped for rapid change.

The automotive industry is currently undergoing more change than ever before. Today, automotive manufacturers no longer just produce cars, but are service providers for mobility, financing, energy, data and retail. New and exciting technologies enable great opportunities, but also present companies with new legal challenges.

The needs of customers and suppliers are changing and thus require new legal frameworks and infrastructures. New global players are entering the market and demanding legal adjustments to previously well-established concepts. In short, the pace has changed and this is challenging the entire industry.

Consulting focus

  • Automotive: energy source of the future

    The energy requirements of vehicle production as well as changing mobility and fleet consumption are bringing sustainable energy issues into sharper focus for one of Germany’s core industries. It is also certain that policymakers will push even harder to link the energy transition with the transport transition. This will result in major tasks and challenges for automotive manufacturers as well as for suppliers, who will feel considerable effects due to legal regulations. All companies in the automotive industry must therefore consider which energy sources they will use for production in the future, which regulatory requirements must be met at which locations, and how they can adapt to rapidly changing legal conditions. We are familiar with the main issues of energy law and support manufacturers and suppliers as well as mobility providers.

  • Automotive financing and mobility services

    There are a variety of ways to use a car without also purchasing it. Especially recently, in addition to car leasing and consumer car loans, the so-called car subscription or car sharing are offered in the market because of regulatory aspects and consumer rights. KPMG Law assists in the German and global design of any financing and mobility package and has long-standing and in-depth legal knowledge in this regard. Particularly noteworthy is our interdisciplinary practice experience in finance, data protection, IT and regulatory issues as well as our global KPMG Law network.

  • Autonomous driving

    Germany is to take a leading role in the future technology of autonomous driving. With the passing of the “Law on Autonomous Driving”, the Bundestag has created the legal framework for autonomous vehicles within Germany. The law went into effect on July 28, 2021. This integration of autonomous vehicles on German roads or in the operations of companies to the deployment possibilities provided for by law raises a number of legal problems and questions. In particular, issues relating to the liability of manufacturers, owners and drivers in the event of accidents, regulatory requirements, the drafting of contracts for autonomous vehicles, insurance law aspects, data protection issues and product liability issues are complex.

    We advise our clients on all aspects of autonomous driving with regard to legal aspects and, in cooperation with the expert colleagues at KPMG AG Wirtschaftsprüfungsgesellschaft, also on business, tax and other issues relating to the integration of autonomous vehicles into company processes or product portfolios. Legal advice includes, in particular, regulatory and public law requirements and approvals, the legally secure drafting of contracts with suppliers and customers, and the structuring of investment projects or transactions, including advice on subsidies, joint ventures and contracts for R&D, as well as individual issues of insurance and data protection law.

  • Data protection and DSGVO in the automotive sector

    Data is also increasingly being collected and processed in motor vehicles. For example, driving behavior and whereabouts constitute personal data that fall under the scope of the German Federal Data Protection Act and the General Data Protection Regulation.
    This data could be coveted by third parties, such as insurance companies, or give rise to fears among vehicle users that they are being spied on. This calls for particular sensitivity and a high level of data protection as well as transparency on the part of companies in order to ensure that innovations are supported and accepted by society.

    Here we support our clients with extensive expertise and advise on all questions of data protection law.

  • Antitrust law in the automotive industry

    The automotive sector represents one of the most exciting and relevant sectors from an antitrust perspective. Both areas – automotive and antitrust – are characterized by comprehensive upheavals. The changes in the field of drive technologies, connected and autonomous driving, and sales models linking traditional and digital business models represent significant opportunities and challenges for the automotive industry. At the same time, they entail significant developments in antitrust law. These include the new rules of conduct currently evolving in digital platforms and business models, collaborations and distribution systems. It is currently being examined whether there will be new special sales regulations for the motor vehicle sector or whether the general regulations will remain in place, which are also being fundamentally revised. KPMG Law supports companies in preparing for the challenges of the new (digital) regulatory framework at an early stage and in making optimal use of room for maneuver. Our experienced antitrust team advises automotive manufacturers and suppliers on an ongoing basis on the antitrust-compliant structuring of cooperations and M&A transactions, on the exchange of information with competitors, and on distribution issues and digital business models.

  • Supply Chain Act

    The Supply Chain Duty of Care Act comes into force in January 2023 and obliges automotive companies with at least 3,000 employees to minimize environmental damage in their supply chains and also to analyze their direct suppliers in this respect. This also imposes higher corporate due diligence obligations on the automotive industry.

    Sustainability issues such as the Supply Chain Act are increasingly shaping the automotive industry and changing corporate cultures and consumer behavior. They are an opportunity, if approached and implemented properly, and open up possibilities for profiling. With our experience, we advise companies on how they can already adapt to the changed legal regulations and what they need to consider.

  • M&A and carve-out

    The need for consulting services in the automotive industry in the areas of mergers and acquisitions (M&A) and carve-outs is increasing due to the strong changes in the entire industry. Corporate transformations as well as international and national corporate transactions are necessary in order to hold one’s ground in the fast-moving market or to break new ground in order to keep pace with developments. This gives rise to complex and multifaceted legal problems in which we support our clients with our experience and expertise.

    Especially due to our interdisciplinary approach, we have in-depth practical knowledge and can thus offer fast and straightforward support in M&A transactions, carve-outs, legal entity reductions, partnering projects, joint ventures and general cooperations.

  • Market entry of new companies in Germany

    The challenges of the future demand new answers from the automotive industry. One of them can be the market entry of new companies. Novel concepts and innovations enrich the automotive landscape and create opportunities.

    We support companies in implementing their market entry strategy and advise on the complex issues that arise when entering a market.

  • Mass procedure

    We represent our clients’ interests in court proceedings and in pre-trial proceedings and provide them with highly professional and field-tested procedures and substantive support in mass actions, model (declaratory) actions and mass proceedings. Especially in cooperation with our litigation experts and our team of KPMG Law Legal Operations and Technology Services, we can offer secure, high-quality and efficient advice and projects.

    We have already achieved practical success in several mass proceedings.

  • Patent Troll and IP Anti-Counterfeiting

    With technology against product piracy

    The automotive industry is losing sales on a large scale due to product piracy. Digital distribution channels for counterfeit products are becoming more complex and numerous, and they are global. At KPMG Law, we help companies protect themselves against counterfeiters: Supported by technology, we find the counterfeits on digital channels and take over the technical and legal prosecution worldwide. With our international network, we are the ideal partner because we are on the ground everywhere to enforce claims and protect the brand from imitators.

    Patent Landscaping

    More and more patents are being filed and granted worldwide. This poses challenges for the automotive industry in particular. Companies need an overview of the technological environment in which they operate and information about the strategies of their competitors – internationally. The mass of existing data in different languages and jurisdictions is immense and growing every day. At KPMG Law, we support companies with our technology-supported analysis of databases available worldwide to maintain an overview, identify relevant intellectual property rights and develop an efficient strategy. With our international network, we are the ideal partner because we are on site everywhere to advise and enforce claims.

Explore #more

24.01.2024 | KPMG Law Insights

How the new unitary patent works – ten facts

Your contact

Dr. Christian Nordholtz, M.Jur. (Oxford)

Partner
Hannover Site Manager

Prinzenstr. 23
30159 Hannover

tel: + 49 (0)511 763 5078110
cnordholtz@kpmg-law.com

© 2024 KPMG Law Rechtsanwaltsgesellschaft mbH, associated with KPMG AG Wirtschaftsprüfungsgesellschaft, a public limited company under German law and a member of the global KPMG organisation of independent member firms affiliated with KPMG International Limited, a Private English Company Limited by Guarantee. All rights reserved. For more details on the structure of KPMG’s global organisation, please visit https://home.kpmg/governance.

 KPMG International does not provide services to clients. No member firm is authorised to bind or contract KPMG International or any other member firm to any third party, just as KPMG International is not authorised to bind or contract any other member firm.

Scroll

Suche
Contact

Automotive und New Mobility

Gut gerüstet für den schnellen Wandel.

Die Automobilindustrie ist derzeit so stark im Wandel wie noch nie. Automobilhersteller stellen heute nicht mehr nur Autos her, sondern sind Dienstleister für Mobilität, Finanzierungen, Energie, Daten und Handel. Neue und spannende Technologien ermöglichen große Chancen, stellen die Unternehmen aber auch vor neue rechtliche Herausforderungen.

Die Bedürfnisse der Kunden und Zulieferer verändern sich und setzen damit neue Rechtsrahmen und Infrastrukturen voraus. Neue Global Player treten in den Markt ein und verlangen rechtliche Anpassungen der bisher gut bewährten Konzepte. Kurzum: Die Geschwindigkeit hat sich verändert und dies fordert die gesamte Branche heraus.

Beratungs­schwer­punkte

  • Automotive: Energieträger der Zukunft

    Die Energiebedürftigkeit der Produktion von Fahrzeugen wie auch die sich ändernde Mobilität und der Flottenverbrauch rücken nachhaltige Energiefragestellungen für eine der deutschen Kernbranchen stärker in den Fokus. Sicher ist zudem, dass die Politik die Verknüpfung der Energie- mit der Verkehrswende noch stärker forcieren wird. Hierdurch ergeben sich große Aufgaben und Herausforderungen für Automobilhersteller wie auch für Zulieferer, die durch rechtliche Regulierungen erhebliche Auswirkungen spüren werden. Sämtliche Unternehmen der Automobilwirtschaft müssen sich daher überlegen, mit welchen Energieträgern sie künftig produzieren, an welchen Standorten welche regulatorischen Anforderungen einzuhalten sind und wie sie sich an schnell ändernde rechtliche Rahmenbedingungen anpassen können. Bei den wesentlichen energierechtlichen Fragestellungen kennen wir uns aus und unterstützen Hersteller und Zulieferer genauso wie Mobilitätsanbieter.

  • Automotive-Finanzierungen und Mobilitätsangebote

    Es gibt eine Vielzahl von Möglichkeiten, ein Auto zu nutzen, ohne es auch zu erwerben. Gerade in jüngster Zeit werden neben dem Kfz-Leasing und den Kfz-Verbraucherdarlehen wegen regulatorischen Gesichtspunkten und Verbraucherrechten das sogenannte Auto-Abo oder das sogenannte Car Sharing im Markt angeboten. KPMG Law unterstützt bei der deutschen und globalen Konzipierung jeglicher Finanzierungs- und Mobilitätspakete und hat hierzu langjährige und tiefgreifende Rechtskenntnisse. Besonders hervorzuheben ist hierbei die interdisziplinäre Praxiserfahrung zu Finance-, Datenschutz- bzw. IT- und regulatorischen Themen sowie unser weltweites KPMG Law-Kanzlei-Netzwerk.

  • Autonomes Fahren

    Deutschland soll eine führende Rolle in der Zukunftstechnologie des autonomen Fahrens einnehmen. Mit der Verabschiedung des „Gesetzes zum autonomen Fahren“ hat der Bundestag die rechtlichen Rahmenbedingungen für autonome Fahrzeuge innerhalb Deutschlands geschaffen. Das Gesetz ist zum 28. Juli 2021 in Kraft getreten. Diese Integration autonomer Fahrzeuge auf deutschen Straßen bzw. in den Abläufen von Unternehmen zu den vom Gesetz vorgesehenen Einsatzmöglichkeiten wirft eine Reihe rechtlicher Probleme und Fragen auf. Insbesondere Fragen zur Haftung von Herstellern, Haltern und Fahrern bei Unfällen, regulatorische Anforderungen, die Ausgestaltung von Verträgen für autonome Fahrzeuge, versicherungsrechtliche Aspekte, datenschutzrechtliche Themen und Fragen der Produkthaftung sind komplex.

    Wir beraten unsere Mandanten zu allen Fragen des autonomen Fahrens im Hinblick auf rechtliche Aspekte und in Zusammenarbeit mit den Expertenkolleg:innen der KPMG AG Wirtschaftsprüfungsgesellschaft auch in Bezug auf betriebswirtschaftliche, steuerliche und andere Fragen der Integration autonomer Fahrzeuge in Unternehmensabläufe oder Produktportfolios. Die rechtliche Beratung umfasst dabei insbesondere regulatorische wie öffentlich-rechtliche Anforderungen und Genehmigungen, die rechtssichere Gestaltung von Verträgen mit Lieferanten und Kunden sowie die Strukturierung von Investitionsprojekten oder Transaktionen einschließlich Fördermittelberatung, Joint Ventures und Verträge für R&D sowie Einzelfragen des Versicherungs- und Datenschutzrechts.

  • Datenschutz und DSGVO im Automotive-Bereich

    Auch in Kraftfahrzeugen werden zunehmend Daten erhoben und verarbeitet. Beispielsweise Fahrverhalten und Aufenthaltsorte stellen dabei personenbezogene Daten dar, die unter den Anwendungsbereich des Bundesdatenschutzgesetzes und der Datenschutzgrundverordnung fallen.
    Diese Daten könnten Begehrlichkeiten bei Dritten, wie zum Beispiel Versicherungen, wecken oder bei den Fahrzeugnutzern die Befürchtung hervorrufen, ausgespäht zu werden. Daher ist hier besondere Sensibilität sowie sowohl hohes Datenschutzniveau als auch Transparenz der Unternehmen gefordert, um sicherzustellen, dass Innovationen von der Gesellschaft mitgetragen und akzeptiert werden.

    Hier stehen wir unseren Mandanten mit umfangreichem Fachwissen zur Seite und beraten zu sämtlichen Fragen des Datenschutzrechts.

  • Kartellrecht in der Automobilbranche

    Der Automotive-Bereich stellt aus kartellrechtlicher Perspektive einen der spannendsten und relevantesten Sektoren dar. Beide Bereiche – Automotive und Kartellrecht – sind geprägt von umfassenden Umbrüchen. Die Umstellungen im Bereich von Antriebstechnologien, vernetztes und autonomes Fahren sowie Vertriebsmodelle unter Verknüpfung klassischer und digitaler Geschäftsmodelle stellen wesentliche Chancen und Herausforderungen für die Automotive-Branche dar. Sie ziehen gleichzeitig wesentliche Entwicklungen im Kartellrecht nach sich. Hierzu zählen die sich derzeit entwickelnden neuen Verhaltensregelungen bei digitalen Plattformen und Geschäftsmodellen, Kooperationen und Vertriebssystemen. Aktuell wird geprüft, ob es zu neuen speziellen Vertriebsregelungen für den Kfz-Bereich kommen soll oder es bei den allgemeinen bleiben wird, die ebenfalls grundlegend überarbeitet werden. KPMG Law unterstützt Unternehmen dabei, sich frühzeitig auf die Herausforderungen des neuen (digitalen) Ordnungsrahmens vorzubereiten und Handlungsspielräume optimal zu nutzen. Unser erfahrenes Kartellrechtsteam berät Automobilhersteller und Zulieferer laufend zur kartellrechtskonformen Ausgestaltung von Kooperationen und M&A-Transaktionen, zum Informationsaustausch mit Wettbewerbern sowie zu Vertriebsthemen und digitalen Geschäftsmodellen.

  • Lieferkettengesetz

    Das Lieferkettensorgfaltspflichtengesetz tritt im Januar 2023 in Kraft und verpflichtet Automotive-Unternehmen mit mindestens 3.000 Arbeitnehmerinnen und Arbeitnehmern, Umweltschäden in ihren Lieferketten zu minimieren und auch ihre unmittelbaren Zulieferer in dieser Hinsicht zu analysieren. Auch der Automobilindustrie werden damit höhere unternehmerische Sorgfaltspflichten auferlegt.

    Nachhaltigkeitsthemen wie das Lieferkettengesetz prägen zunehmend die Automobilbranche und verändern Unternehmenskulturen sowie Verbraucherverhalten. Sie sind eine Chance, wenn man sie richtig angeht und umsetzt, und eröffnen Möglichkeiten der Profilierung. Mit unserer Erfahrung beraten wir Unternehmen, wie sie sich bereits jetzt auf die veränderten gesetzlichen Regelungen ein- und umstellen können und was sie dabei beachten müssen.

  • M&A und Carve-out

    Der Beratungsbedarf der Automobilindustrie in den Bereichen Fusionen und Übernahmen (Merger & Acquisitions, M&A) und Ausgliederungen (Carve-outs) nimmt aufgrund der starken Veränderungen in der gesamten Branche zu. Unternehmensumwandlungen sowie internationale und nationale Unternehmenstransaktionen sind nötig, um sich auf dem schnelllebigen Markt behaupten zu können oder neue Wege zu beschreiten, um mit der Entwicklung Schritt zu halten. Hierbei ergeben sich komplexe und vielseitige rechtliche Problemstellungen, bei denen wir unseren Mandanten mit unserer Erfahrung und Expertise zur Seite stehen.

    Gerade durch unseren interdisziplinären Ansatz haben wir tiefgreifende Praxiskenntnisse und können somit schnelle und unkomplizierte Unterstützung bei M&A-Transaktionen, Carve-outs, Legal Entity Reductions, Partnering-Projekten, Joint Ventures und allgemeinen Kooperationen bieten.

  • Markteintritt neuer Unternehmen in Deutschland

    Die Herausforderungen der Zukunft verlangen neue Antworten der Automobilbranche. Eine davon kann der Markteintritt neuer Unternehmen sein. Neuartige Konzepte und Innovationen bereichern die Automobillandschaft und schaffen Chancen.

    Wir unterstützen Unternehmen bei der Umsetzung ihrer Markteintrittsstrategie und beraten zu den komplexen Fragestellungen, die sich bei einem Markteintritt ergeben.

  • Massenverfahren

    Bei Gerichtsverfahren und im vorprozessualen Bereich vertreten wir die Interessen unserer Mandanten und stellen ihnen bei Massenklagen, Muster(feststellungs)klagen und Massenverfahren hochprofessionelle und praxiserprobte Abläufe und inhaltliche Betreuung zur Seite. Insbesondere im Zusammenspiel mit unseren prozessualen Litigations-Experten und unserem Team von KPMG Law Legal Operations and Technology Services können wir sichere, hochwertige und effiziente Beratung und Projekte anbieten.

    In mehreren Massenverfahren haben wir bereits praxisfeste Erfolge erzielt.

  • Patent Troll und IP-Anti-Counterfeiting

    Mit Technologie gegen Produktpiraterie

    Die Automobilindustrie verliert in großem Umfang an Umsatz durch Produktpiraterie. Die digitalen Vertriebswege für gefälschte Produkte werden immer komplexer und zahlreicher, und sie sind global. Wir von KPMG Law helfen Unternehmen, sich vor Nachahmern zu schützen: Technologiegestützt finden wir die Fälschungen auf digitalen Kanälen und übernehmen weltweit die technische und rechtliche Verfolgung. Mit unserem internationalen Netzwerk sind wir der ideale Partner, weil wir überall vor Ort sind, um Ansprüche durchzusetzen und die Marke vor Nachahmern zu schützen.

    Patent Landscaping

    Weltweit werden zunehmend mehr Patente angemeldet und erteilt. Dies stellt besonders die Automobilindustrie vor Herausforderungen. Unternehmen benötigen einen Überblick über das technologische Umfeld, in dem sie sich bewegen, und Informationen über die Strategien ihrer Wettbewerber – und das international. Die Masse an vorhandenen Daten in verschiedenen Sprachen und Jurisdiktionen ist immens und wächst jeden Tag. Wir von KPMG Law unterstützen Unternehmen mit unserer technologiegestützten Analyse weltweit vorhandener Datenbanken dabei, den Überblick zu behalten, relevante Schutzrechte zu identifizieren und eine effiziente Strategie zu entwickeln. Mit unserem internationalen Netzwerk sind wir der ideale Partner, weil wir überall vor Ort sind, um zu beraten und Ansprüche durchzusetzen.

Erfahren Sie, für wieviel mehr #more steht: direkt von unseren Expert:innen.
Auf Klick. In spannenden O-Tönen.

Ihr Ansprechpartner

Dr. Christian Nordholtz, M.Jur. (Oxford)

Partner
Standortleiter Hannover

Prinzenstr. 23
30159 Hannover

tel: + 49 (0)511 763 5078110
cnordholtz@kpmg-law.com

© 2022 KPMG Law Rechtsanwaltsgesellschaft mbH, assoziiert mit der KPMG AG Wirtschaftsprüfungsgesellschaft, einer Aktiengesellschaft nach deutschem Recht und ein Mitglied der globalen KPMG-Organisation unabhängiger Mitgliedsfirmen, die KPMG International Limited, einer Private English Company Limited by Guarantee, angeschlossen sind. Alle Rechte vorbehalten. Für weitere Einzelheiten über die Struktur der globalen Organisation von KPMG besuchen Sie bitte https://home.kpmg/governance.

KPMG International erbringt keine Dienstleistungen für Kunden. Keine Mitgliedsfirma ist befugt, KPMG International oder eine andere Mitgliedsfirma gegenüber Dritten zu verpflichten oder vertraglich zu binden, ebenso wie KPMG International nicht autorisiert ist, andere Mitgliedsfirmen zu verpflichten oder vertraglich zu binden.

Scroll