Suche
Contact

Energy & Natural Resources

Energy and Renewables. Successfully mastering the energy transition.

The energy sector in Germany – as in the whole of Europe – is characterized by far-reaching changes at all stages of the value chain as a result of interlinking and coupling with other sectors as well as the increasing use of new technologies and digitization. In addition, achieving the politically agreed climate targets will be a stronger focus of German economic policy than in the past. However, companies in the energy industry are making a significant contribution to meeting the decarbonization target, and in doing so they must face up to an ever-changing market environment.

Based on our many years of consulting experience and our extensive knowledge of the industry, we are well aware of the legal requirements that market players must adapt to. We advise project developers and plant constructors, (decentralized) producers, energy suppliers, grid operators, energy traders or distributors as well as energy-intensive companies on all issues related to energy supply. In addition to the supply of electricity and gas, this also includes the supply of heating and cooling and, more recently, hydrogen.

Consulting focus

  • Electromobility and New Mobility

    The transport sector is the focus of all efforts to make the transition to a climate-neutral world. We support our clients in setting up charging infrastructures and help them meet regulatory requirements, in particular the development of a coherent metering concept. We also advise on the specifications and funding options for parking spaces and charging points and help develop operator concepts for fast-charging stations, especially with regard to regulatory and state aid requirements. We are also available to advise on fleet solutions for companies or for municipal tasks.

  • Emissions trading

    Climate protection concepts such as emissions trading are playing an increasingly important role in the energy transition. We advise our clients on issues related to the European trading of emission allowances and guarantees of origin, as well as on issues related to national fuel emission trading.

  • Energy trading and sales

    We advise energy trading or energy distribution companies comprehensively on many legal issues. This includes, on the one hand, the procurement of electricity and natural gas on the exchange or within the framework of bilateral OTC transactions, especially in the case of so-called Power Purchase Agreements, and, on the other hand, we advise on sales to end consumers. In addition, we support you in the implementation of business models or the creation of model contracts.

  • Energy supply networks and regulation

    Grid operation is a key success factor for the energy transition. In addition to issues related to security of supply and grid expansion, grid and infrastructure operators face a number of other challenges. We provide you with comprehensive advice on all grid regulatory issues as well as on grid connection, connection use and grid utilization issues. We are also involved in current network expansion projects.

  • Industry, housing and healthcare

    Industrial companies, companies in the housing industry as well as the healthcare sector are connected to the topic of energy supply in very different ways. What they all have in common, however, is that energy is an increasingly important factor from both an economic and an ecological point of view, making it imperative to deal with energy law issues.

    Industrial companies are looking for new ways to a sustainable, but at the same time cost-effective energy supply. Together with our clients, we develop supply concepts from (renewable) generation plants or procure green power via so-called Power Purchase Agreements. We optimize the set-up of regulatory requirements for the supply infrastructure, help with privilege and relief applications for electricity price components or develop metering concepts. From a comprehensive perspective, we are thus able to assist our clients with all issues relating to compliance with energy law requirements.

    Factors such as demographic change, population growth, housing shortages, and extensive changes in the working patterns and other lifestyles of people in large cities make it essential to adapt the infrastructure of urban areas. For the housing industry, these developments and the constantly changing legal requirements result in enormous pressure to act and cut costs. The development of innovative business and service models, also in the areas of energy supply and mobility concepts, is currently a challenging topic for our clients. We provide comprehensive advice on the planning and installation of energy generation plants, including neighborhood projects, or support in claiming apportionment privileges.

    We support companies in the healthcare sector in the implementation and operational management of decentralized generation models, assist in the procurement of secure and cost-effective energy or optimize the supply infrastructure.

  • Power plant construction and generation

    In the field of power plant construction and power generation from conventional sources, we have many years of experience in planning, financing, procurement and implementation as well as in maintenance and servicing within the framework of the permanent operation of generation plants and also in regulatory issues, in particular redispatch. Our clients benefit from a balanced mix of KPMG Law’s legal expertise and KPMG AG Wirtschaftsprüfungsgesellschaft’s energy industry know-how, which helps them ensure cost-effective power plant operations.

  • Metering point operation and smart metering

    The business area of metering point operation is becoming increasingly important. In order to comply with the legal requirements and to be able to claim any privileges, a coherent metering concept must be developed and the digitization of metering must be completed. We support our clients in the development of additional and value-added services in the field of smart metering to extend the value chain and increase customer loyalty. We can also advise you on the development of a strategy for implementing competitive metering point operation. In addition, you will equally benefit from our extensive knowledge of dealing with smart meters, smart home applications, blockchain, artificial intelligence, platform models for peer-to-peer trading, energy communities, micro grids and local energy markets.

  • Sustainability, renewable energies and cogeneration

    We support project developers, plant operators, investors, grid operators, and energy-intensive end consumers in resource-conserving supply concepts by embedding renewable energy projects as well as electricity and heat generation from cogeneration in the company’s own sustainability strategy. Regardless of whether it is a matter of licensing issues under immission control law, of questions relating to the purchase and feeding into an energy supply network, or of subsidies under the Renewable Energy Sources Act (EEG) and/or the Combined Heat and Power Act (KWKG): we are always familiar with the ever-changing legal environment.

    Within the scope of current consulting projects, we support clients with regard to sustainability requirements for green power purchase agreements or in the development of decentralized supply concepts for company locations or neighborhoods.

  • New technologies and hydrogen

    The further development of energy supply goes hand in hand with the adaptation of legal requirements. In the energy industry, this was most recently seen in the area of the emerging legal framework around hydrogen as an energy carrier, but the familiar rules on heat supply are also evolving. We are following these innovations very closely, exchanging views with infrastructure operators on issues of hydrogen regulation and developing business models for hydrogen supply.

  • Support for transactions and cooperation projects

    Energy utilities and network operators will be confronted with major challenges in the future, which at the same time also represent major opportunities. The implementation of the energy transition, the development of new business models and the focus on core competencies will continue to gain in importance and affect more than 1,000 players in the energy sector. Against this backdrop, both companies in the traditional energy supply sector and those previously active in other economic sectors are rethinking their portfolios. These transformation processes are complex and usually successful when a suitable partner is found, the process is well prepared and the change fits well into the company’s overall concept.

    We advise you comprehensively in particular in cases

    • the implementation of Group restructuring measures,
    • the acquisition or sale of companies in the energy industry or of assets related to energy,
    • the restructuring and
    • mergers and the structuring of shareholdings and joint ventures.

    Related areas of law, such as antitrust law, are also taken into account. For such transformation projects, we are also happy to provide our clients with legal project management.

Explore #more

20.12.2023 | KPMG Law Insights

EU adopts 12th sanctions package against Russia

08.08.2023 | KPMG Law Insights, KPMG Law Insights

Heat Planning Act creates investment security for heating systems

04.08.2023 | KPMG Law Insights, KPMG Law Insights

Karlsruhe Regional Court: Forest protection does not make products climate-neutral

20.07.2023 | KPMG Law Insights

Podcast series “KPMG Law on air”: Climate change as a legal issue – environmental lawsuits on the rise

05.07.2023 | KPMG Law Insights

Solar package: focus on tenant electricity and shared building supply

23.06.2023 | KPMG Law Insights

Traffic light coalition dovetails building energy law with municipal heat planning

20.12.2022

Interview with Miriam Bouazza and Marc Goldberg in Börsenzeitung

Here you will find further articles by our KPMG Law Expert:in on the topic of Energy & Natural Resources on KPMG Klardenker, the blog of our cooperation partner KPMG AG Wirtschaftsprüfungsgesellschaft:
27.06.2023 | Marc Goldberg

How companies can efficiently secure green power

Power Purchase Agreements or own plants: how to switch to renewable energy.

Your contact person

Marc Goldberg

Partner

Tersteegenstraße 19-23
40474 Düsseldorf

tel: +49 211 4155597976
marcgoldberg@kpmg-law.de

© 2024 KPMG Law Rechtsanwaltsgesellschaft mbH, associated with KPMG AG Wirtschaftsprüfungsgesellschaft, a public limited company under German law and a member of the global KPMG organisation of independent member firms affiliated with KPMG International Limited, a Private English Company Limited by Guarantee. All rights reserved. For more details on the structure of KPMG’s global organisation, please visit https://home.kpmg/governance.

 KPMG International does not provide services to clients. No member firm is authorised to bind or contract KPMG International or any other member firm to any third party, just as KPMG International is not authorised to bind or contract any other member firm.

Scroll

Suche
Contact

Energy & Natural Resources

Energy und Renewables. Die Energiewende erfolgreich meistern.

Der Energiesektor in Deutschland ist – wie in ganz Europa – infolge der Verzahnung und Kopplung mit weiteren Sektoren wie auch durch den zunehmenden Einsatz von neuen Technologien und Digitalisierung geprägt von tiefgreifenden Veränderungen in allen Wertschöpfungsstufen. Hinzu kommt, dass das Erreichen der politisch vereinbarten Klimaziele dabei stärker als bisher einen Schwerpunkt der deutschen Wirtschaftspolitik bildet. Zur Erfüllung der angestrebten Dekarbonisierung leisten die Unternehmen der Energiewirtschaft jedoch einen wesentlichen Beitrag und müssen sich dabei einem sich stets ändernden Marktumfeld stellen.

Aufgrund unserer langjährigen Beratungspraxis und unserer umfangreichen Branchenkenntnis wissen wir um die rechtlichen Anforderungen, auf die sich die Marktakteure einstellen müssen. Wir beraten Projektentwickler und Anlagenbauer, (dezentrale) Erzeuger, Energieversorger, Netzbetreiber, Energiehändler bzw. -vertriebe wie auch energieintensive Unternehmen bei allen Fragen rund um die Energieversorgung. Dies umfasst neben der Strom- und Gasversorgung auch die Versorgung mit Wärme bzw. Kälte und neuerdings auch mit Wasserstoff.

Beratungs­schwer­punkte

  • Elektromobilität und New Mobility

    Der Verkehrssektor steht im Fokus aller Bestrebungen, den Wandel zu einer klimaneutralen Welt zu vollziehen. Wir unterstützen unsere Mandanten dabei, Ladeinfrastrukturen aufzubauen, und helfen ihnen bei der Erfüllung der regulatorischen Vorgaben, insbesondere der Erarbeitung eines schlüssigen Messkonzepts. Wir beraten darüber hinaus zu den Vorgaben und Fördermöglichkeiten von Stellplätzen und Ladepunkten und helfen bei der Entwicklung von Betreiberkonzepten für Schnellladestationen, insbesondere hinsichtlich regulatorischer und beihilferechtlicher Anforderungen. Auch bei Fragen zu Flottenlösungen für Unternehmen oder für kommunale Aufgaben stehen wir beratend zur Seite.

  • Emissionshandel

    Im Rahmen der Energiewende spielen Klimaschutzkonzepte wie der Emissionshandel eine immer größere Rolle. Wir beraten unsere Mandanten zu Fragen des europäischen Handels von Emissionszertifikaten und Herkunftsnachweisen sowie auch bei Fragen zum nationalen Brennstoffemissionshandel.

  • Energiehandel und Vertrieb

    Wir beraten Energiehandels- bzw. Energievertriebsunternehmen umfassend zu vielen rechtlichen Themen. Dies beinhaltet zum einen die Beschaffung von Strom und Erdgas an der Börse oder im Rahmen von bilateralen OTC-Geschäften, insbesondere bei sogenannten Power Purchase Agreements, zum anderen beraten wir beim Vertrieb an den Letztverbraucher. Zudem unterstützen wir Sie bei der Umsetzung von Geschäftsmodellen oder der Erstellung von Musterverträgen.

  • Energieversorgungsnetze und Regulierung

    Der Netzbetrieb ist ein zentraler Erfolgsfaktor für das Gelingen der Energiewende. Neben Fragen zur Versorgungssicherheit und dem Netzausbau stehen Netz- und Infrastrukturbetreiber vor einer Reihe weiterer Herausforderungen. Wir beraten Sie vollumfänglich zu allen netzregulatorischen Fragestellungen sowie zu Netzanschluss-, Anschlussnutzungs- und Netznutzungsfragen. Wir sind außerdem in aktuelle Netzausbauprojekte eingebunden.

  • Industrie, Wohnungswirtschaft und Healthcare

    Industrieunternehmen, Unternehmen der Wohnungswirtschaft wie auch die Gesundheitsbranche sind auf sehr unterschiedliche Weise mit dem Thema Energieversorgung verbunden. Gemeinsam ist ihnen allen aber, dass Energie ein zunehmend wichtiger Faktor unter wirtschaftlichen wie auch ökologischen Aspekten ist und eine Befassung mit energierechtlichen Themen daher zwingend erforderlich ist.

    Industrieunternehmen suchen neue Wege in eine nachhaltige, aber gleichzeitig kostengünstige Energieversorgung. Wir entwickeln zusammen mit unseren Mandanten Versorgungskonzepte aus (erneuerbaren) Erzeugungsanlagen oder beschaffen Grünstrom über sogenannte Power Purchase Agreements. Wir optimieren das Set-up von regulatorischen Anforderungen an die Versorgungsinfrastruktur, helfen bei Privilegierungs- und Entlastungsanträgen für Strompreisbestandteile oder entwickeln Messkonzepte. Umfassend betrachtet stehen wir damit unseren Mandanten bei allen Fragen rund um die Compliance mit energierechtlichen Anforderungen zur Seite.

    Faktoren wie demografischer Wandel, Bevölkerungswachstum, Wohnungsnot, umfassende Änderungen im Arbeitsverhalten und sonstigen Lebensgewohnheiten der Menschen in Großstädten machen eine Anpassung der Infrastruktur urbaner Räume unerlässlich. Für die Wohnungswirtschaft resultiert aus diesen Entwicklungen und den sich stetig wandelnden gesetzlichen Vorgaben ein enormer Handlungs- und Kostendruck. Die Entwicklung von innovativen Geschäfts- und Dienstleistungsmodellen, auch in den Bereichen Energieversorgung und Mobilitätskonzepte, ist für unsere Mandanten aktuell ein herausforderndes Thema. Wir beraten umfassend bei der Planung und Einrichtung von Energieerzeugungsanlagen, auch bei Quartiersprojekten, oder unterstützen bei der Inanspruchnahme von Umlageprivilegien.

    Unternehmen aus dem Bereich Healthcare unterstützen wir bei der Implementierung und Betriebsführung von dezentralen Erzeugungsmodellen, helfen bei der Beschaffung sicherer und kostengünstiger Energie oder optimieren die Versorgungsinfrastruktur.

  • Kraftwerksbau und Erzeugung

    Im Bereich des Kraftwerksbaus und der Energieerzeugung aus konventionellen Quellen verfügen wir über langjährige Erfahrung in der Planung, Finanzierung, Beschaffung und Umsetzung sowie bei der Wartung und Instandhaltung im Rahmen des dauerhaften Betriebs von Erzeugungsanlagen sowie auch bei regulatorischen Fragen, insbesondere zum Redispatch. Unsere Mandanten profitieren von einem ausgewogenen Mix aus rechtlicher Expertise von KPMG Law und dem energiewirtschaftlichen Know-how der KPMG AG Wirtschaftsprüfungsgesellschaft, der sie dabei unterstützt, einen wirtschaftlichen Kraftwerksbetrieb sicherzustellen.

  • Messstellenbetrieb und Smart Metering

    Der Geschäftsbereich Messstellenbetrieb gewinnt immer weiter an Bedeutung. Um den rechtlichen Vorgaben zu genügen und etwaige Privilegierungen in Anspruch nehmen zu können, muss ein schlüssiges Messkonzept entwickelt und die Digitalisierung des Messwesens vollzogen werden. Wir unterstützen unsere Mandanten bei der Entwicklung von Zusatz- und Mehrwertdienstleistungen im Bereich Smart Metering zur Erweiterung der Wertschöpfungskette sowie Erhöhung der Kundenbindung. Auch bei der Entwicklung einer Strategie zur Implementierung eines wettbewerblichen Messstellenbetriebs beraten wir Sie. Darüber hinaus profitieren Sie ebenso von unseren umfassenden Kenntnissen zum Umgang mit Smart Metern, Smart Home-Anwendungen, Blockchain, künstlicher Intelligenz, Plattformmodellen für Peer-to-Peer-Handel, Energy Communities, Micro Grids und lokalen Energiemärkten.

  • Nachhaltigkeit, erneuerbare Energien und Kraft-Wärme-Kopplung

    Wir unterstützen Projektentwickler, Anlagenbetreiber, Investoren, Netzbetreiber und energieintensive Letztverbraucher bei ressourcenschonenden Versorgungskonzepten, indem wir Erneuerbare-Energien-Projekte sowie Strom- und Wärmeerzeugung aus Kraft-Wärme-Kopplung in die unternehmenseigene Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie einbetten. Egal ob es sich darüber hinaus um Genehmigungsfragen nach dem Immissionsschutzrecht, um Fragen rund um Abnahme und Einspeisung in ein Energieversorgungsnetz handelt oder ob es um eine Förderung nach EEG und/oder KWKG geht: Wir kennen jederzeit das sich stets ändernde rechtliche Umfeld.

    Im Rahmen von aktuellen Beratungsprojekten unterstützen wir Mandanten im Hinblick auf Nachhaltigkeitsanforderungen zu Grünstrombezugsverträgen (sogenannte Power Purchase Agreements) oder bei der Entwicklung dezentraler Versorgungskonzepte für Unternehmensstandorte oder Quartiere.

  • Neue Technologien und Wasserstoff

    Die Weiterentwicklung der Energieversorgung geht einher mit der Anpassung rechtlicher Vorgaben. In der Energiewirtschaft war dies zuletzt im Bereich des sich neu ausbildenden Rechtsrahmens rund um den Energieträger Wasserstoff festzustellen, aber auch die bekannten Regeln zur Wärmeversorgung entwickeln sich fort. Wir begleiten diese Neuerungen sehr intensiv, stehen zu Fragen der Wasserstoffregulierung mit Infrastrukturbetreibern im Austausch und entwickeln Geschäftsmodelle zur Wasserstoffversorgung.

  • Unterstützung bei Transaktionen und Kooperationsvorhaben

    Energieversorgungsunternehmen und Netzbetreiber werden künftig mit großen Herausforderungen konfrontiert sein, die zugleich auch große Chancen darstellen. Die Umsetzung der Energiewende, die Entwicklung neuer Geschäftsmodelle wie auch die Fokussierung auf Kernkompetenzen werden weiter an Bedeutung gewinnen und betreffen mehr als 1.000 Akteure in der Energiebranche. Vor diesem Hintergrund überdenken sowohl Unternehmen der klassischen Energieversorgung als auch solche, die bisher in anderen Wirtschaftsbereichen tätig waren, ihr Portfolio. Diese Transformationsprozesse sind komplex und meistens dann erfolgreich, wenn ein passender Partner gefunden wird, der Prozess gut vorbereitet ist und sich die Veränderung in das Gesamtkonzept des Unternehmens gut einfügt.

    Wir beraten Sie umfassend insbesondere in Fällen

    • der Umsetzung von Konzernstrukturierungen,
    • des Erwerbs oder Verkaufs von Unternehmen in der Energiewirtschaft oder auch von Assets mit Energiebezug,
    • der Restrukturierung und
    • bei Fusionen sowie der Ausgestaltung von Beteiligungen und Joint Ventures.

    Angrenzende Rechtsgebiete wie beispielsweise das Kartellrecht finden dabei ebenso Berücksichtigung. Für derartige Transformationsprojekte stellen wir unseren Mandanten auch gerne ein juristisches Projektmanagement zur Seite.

Erfahren Sie, für wieviel mehr #more steht: direkt von unseren Expert:innen.
Auf Klick. In spannenden O-Tönen.

Explore #more

27.05.2024 | KPMG Law Insights

BImSchG-Novelle soll Genehmigungsverfahren beschleunigen

23.02.2024 | KPMG Law Insights

EU-Batterieverordnung: Neue Pflichten für Hersteller und Industrie

19.02.2024 | PR-Veröffentlichungen

Tagesspiegel Beitrag zur Entwaldungsverordnung mit KPMG Law Statement

30.01.2024 | KPMG Law Insights

Batterierecycling: Zukunftsmarkt mit regulatorischen Hürden

20.12.2023 | KPMG Law Insights

EU verabschiedet 12. Sanktionspaket gegen Russland

24.11.2023 | KPMG Law Insights

GEG 2024: Viele neue Pflichten, nicht nur für Heizungen

08.08.2023 | KPMG Law Insights

Wärmeplanungsgesetz schafft Investitionssicherheit bei Heizungen

04.08.2023 | KPMG Law Insights

LG Karlsruhe: Waldschutz macht Produkte nicht klimaneutral

20.07.2023 | KPMG Law Insights

Podcast-Serie „KPMG Law on air”: Klimawandel als juristisches Thema – Umweltklagen nehmen zu

05.07.2023 | KPMG Law Insights

Solarpaket: Mieterstrom und gemeinschaftliche Gebäudeversorgung im Fokus

Hier finden Sie weitere Artikel unserer KPMG Law Expert:innen zum Thema Energy & Natural Resources auf KPMG Klardenker, dem Blog unserer Kooperationspartnerin KPMG AG Wirtschaftsprüfungsgesellschaft:
27.06.2023 | Marc Goldberg

So können sich Unternehmen Ökostrom effizient sichern

Power Purchase Agreements oder eigene Anlagen: Wie man auf erneuerbare Energien umstellt.

Ihr Ansprechpartner

Marc Goldberg

Partner

Tersteegenstraße 19-23
40474 Düsseldorf

tel: +49 211 4155597976
marcgoldberg@kpmg-law.de

© 2024 KPMG Law Rechtsanwaltsgesellschaft mbH, assoziiert mit der KPMG AG Wirtschaftsprüfungsgesellschaft, einer Aktiengesellschaft nach deutschem Recht und ein Mitglied der globalen KPMG-Organisation unabhängiger Mitgliedsfirmen, die KPMG International Limited, einer Private English Company Limited by Guarantee, angeschlossen sind. Alle Rechte vorbehalten. Für weitere Einzelheiten über die Struktur der globalen Organisation von KPMG besuchen Sie bitte https://home.kpmg/governance.

KPMG International erbringt keine Dienstleistungen für Kunden. Keine Mitgliedsfirma ist befugt, KPMG International oder eine andere Mitgliedsfirma gegenüber Dritten zu verpflichten oder vertraglich zu binden, ebenso wie KPMG International nicht autorisiert ist, andere Mitgliedsfirmen zu verpflichten oder vertraglich zu binden.

Scroll