Suche
Contact

KPMG Integrity Service - individual whistleblower system

An effective whistleblower system can protect your company's reputation and prevent financial and legal repercussions.

An effective whistleblower system helps protect your company’s reputation. It gives employees the opportunity to report violations (such as fraud or corruption but also other misconduct) confidentially, provides an early warning system for risk control, and helps protect the company and management from liability in the event of compliance violations.

Regardless of whether you are an international corporation or a nationally operating family business – at the latest with the implementation of the European Whistleblower Directive, all organizations concerned should address the question of the appropriate whistleblower system.

Find out and get your result right after answering!

“In the past two years, just under one-third of the companies surveyed have been affected by white-collar crime (32 percent). The level of concern increases with the size of the company.” KPMG study “White-collar Crime in Germany 2020

“The establishment of the whistleblower system had a significant positive impact on the respondents. In each case, one in five respondents had discovered a fraudulent act through the system or had received a tip that was crucial to clarifying the incident. Just under half also perceive a strengthened compliance culture.” (KPMG study “White-collar crime in Germany 2020”)

We are best positioned for you

KPMG Law provides strategic and operational advice to companies of all sizes and in all industries on all issues related to the use of whistleblower systems, nationally and internationally with the support of KPMG’s network of independent member firms.
Business consulting services are provided by KPMG AG Wirtschaftsprüfungsgesellschaft (KPMG AG). An interdisciplinary team of experienced experts supports your company in the implementation and ongoing operation of your whistleblower system. This is how you reduce your risk of damage! We will be happy to answer any questions you may have or to arrange an initial meeting.

  • Who is affected by the new whistleblower policy?

    The EU Directive on the “Protection of Persons Reporting Breaches of Union Law,” adopted by the European Council in October 2019, will require certain companies to establish internal reporting channels in the future. The reporting process must also ensure the follow-up of the notice and designate a person responsible for this. The directive must be transposed into national law by December 17, 2021. Companies with 50 to 249 employees have until Dec. 17, 2023, to implement internal reporting channels.

  • To whom does this policy apply?

    Private companies with more than 50 employees are required to set up an internal reporting system to receive tips. In addition, companies in certain sectors (e.g. financial sector) also have to comply with this obligation, regardless of their size. This obligation also applies to all state administrative bodies, all regional administrations and departments, municipalities with more than 10,000 inhabitants, and legal entities under public law.

  • Requirements from the directive

    Establish transparent reporting channels and trusted communication channels. The organizations concerned must implement an internal reporting process that allows internal and external parties to report their indications anonymously. Notices must be given by telephone, in writing, or in person. The follow-up of the information must be ensured and a person responsible for this within the organization must be appointed and trained accordingly. Information on the reporting process must be provided in a transparent and easily accessible manner.

  • Multi-level whistleblowing system

    Whistleblowers are encouraged to first report the grievance internally (if appropriate reporting channels exist for this purpose). If the report is not processed by the competent body within three months, whistleblowers may turn to a competent authority.

    Under certain circumstances, whistleblowers may also do so directly: E.g., when the violation to be reported may pose an immediate or obvious threat to the public interest, such as in an emergency situation or when there is a risk of irreversible harm. In such cases, for example, messages can be passed on directly to the media.

  • Obligation to report back within a reasonable period of time

    There is a requirement that the whistleblower must be informed within three months of the action taken as a result of his report.
    Protection and mechanisms to avoid retaliation.
    The directive aims to protect whistleblowers from retaliation, such as workplace harassment, discrimination or dismissal.
    In addition, the reversal of the burden of proof applies, which means that should legal proceedings ensue as a result of reprisals suffered by a whistleblower, the employer must prove that the disadvantage suffered is unrelated to the whistleblower’s report. Persons who have supported the whistleblower (e.g. trusted persons, colleagues or relatives) are also protected.

  • Obligation to introduce sanctions

    In the event that employers do not fulfill their obligations, do not ensure the anonymity of whistleblowers or do not initiate follow-up measures, they must expect sanctions. Exactly which ones will depend on the concrete implementation of the legislator.

    How the whistleblowing system is designed, which reporting channels should be available to employees, and how reports are processed and handled should be customized for each company.

  • KPMG Integrity Service

    For this reason, KPMG Law has developed the “KPMG Integrity Service” together with the experts from KPMG AG Wirtschaftsprüfungsgesellschaft and EQS. This is a web-based whistleblowing system that employees can access simply and easily via a link. The platform is available in up to 60 languages and is therefore also ideally suited for internationally operating companies. Furthermore, the system enables communication with the whistleblower – while preserving his or her full anonymity.

    Our experts support you in the implementation and ongoing operation of the whistleblowing system: from the receipt of information to internal investigations and representation in legal proceedings, we cover all technical and legal aspects of whistleblowing worldwide and from a single source.

    Our KPMG Integrity Service represents a fully comprehensive service. We take care of the conceptual design, technical set-up and maintenance of the system and also offer case management. Companies receive meaningful reports and status reports for management or the board of directors at predefined intervals. The cooperation of the Compliance and Data Protection, Forensic and Law departments enables us to offer an individual full service from a single source, ranging from case management and legal advice to the conduct of internal company investigations in the event of an incident. In addition, we are available to you 365 days a year with the help of our worldwide FairCall centers. This enables your company to receive and process concerns in a timely manner and respond appropriately.

    The KPMG Integrity Service combines the services of KPMG Faircall, KPMG Law, KPMG Forensic and EQS Group into a holistic solution.

Explore #more

27.05.2024 | KPMG Law Insights

Agreement on ecodesign regulation: products to become more sustainable

19.03.2024 | Business Performance & Resilience, KPMG Law Insights

CSDDD: Provisional agreement on the EU Supply Chain Directive

14.02.2024 | Business Performance & Resilience, PR Publications

Guest article in ZURe: Monitoring the implementation of the LkSG

17.01.2024 | PR Publications

Geopolitical challenges mean new tasks for legal departments

08.01.2024 | KPMG Law Insights

These legislative changes will affect companies in 2024

20.12.2023 | KPMG Law Insights

EU adopts 12th sanctions package against Russia

21.11.2023

Guest article in ZURe on the implementation of CSRD reporting in SMEs

06.10.2023 | KPMG Law Insights, KPMG Law Insights

Implement CSRD and standards: a lot of work, little time

04.08.2023 | KPMG Law Insights, KPMG Law Insights

Karlsruhe Regional Court: Forest protection does not make products climate-neutral

05.07.2023 | KPMG Law Insights

Solar package: focus on tenant electricity and shared building supply

Your contact persons

Dr. Bernd Federmann

Partner
Stuttgart Site Manager
Head of Compliance & Corporate Criminal Law

Theodor-Heuss-Straße 5
70174 Stuttgart

tel: 0711 781923418
bfedermann@kpmg-law.com

Andreas Pruksch

Senior Manager

Theodor-Heuss-Straße 5
70174 Stuttgart

tel: +49 711 781923-419
apruksch@kpmg-law.com

© 2024 KPMG Law Rechtsanwaltsgesellschaft mbH, associated with KPMG AG Wirtschaftsprüfungsgesellschaft, a public limited company under German law and a member of the global KPMG organisation of independent member firms affiliated with KPMG International Limited, a Private English Company Limited by Guarantee. All rights reserved. For more details on the structure of KPMG’s global organisation, please visit https://home.kpmg/governance.

 KPMG International does not provide services to clients. No member firm is authorised to bind or contract KPMG International or any other member firm to any third party, just as KPMG International is not authorised to bind or contract any other member firm.

Scroll

Suche
Contact

KPMG Integrity Service – individuelles Hinweisgebersystem

Ein wirksames Hinweisgebersystem kann den Ruf Ihres Unternehmens schützen und finanziellen und rechtlichen Auswirkungen vorbeugen.

Ein wirksames Hinweisgebersystem trägt zum Schutz des Rufes Ihres Unternehmens bei. Es gibt den Mitarbeitern die Möglichkeit, Verstöße (wie Betrug oder Korruption aber auch sonstige Fehlverhalten) vertraulich zu melden, bietet ein Frühwarnsystem zur Risikokontrolle und trägt zum Schutz des Unternehmens und der Geschäftsleitung vor Haftung im Fall von Compliance-Verstößen bei.

Gleich, ob international tätiger Konzern oder national agierendes Familienunternehmen – spätestens mit der Umsetzung der europäischen Whistleblower-Richtlinie sollten sich alle betroffenen Organisationen mit der Frage des passenden Hinweisgebersystems auseinandersetzen.

» Finden Sie es heraus und erhalten Sie Ihr Ergebnis direkt nach der Beantwortung!

„In den vergangenen zwei Jahren war knapp ein Drittel der befragten Unternehmen von Wirtschaftskriminalität betroffen (32 Prozent). Die Betroffenheit nimmt mit der Größe des Unternehmens zu.“ KPMG-Studie „Wirtschaftskriminalität in Deutschland 2020“

„Die Einrichtung des Hinweisgebersystems hatte für die Befragten erhebliche positive Auswirkungen. Jeweils einer von fünf Befragten hat eine wirtschafts-kriminelle Handlung durch das System überhaupt entdeckt beziehungsweise einen für die Aufklärung des Vorfalls entscheidenden Hinweis erhalten. Knapp die Hälfte nimmt darüber hinaus eine gestärkte Compliance-Kultur wahr.“ (KPMG-Studie „Wirtschaftskriminalität in Deutschland 2020“)

Wir sind bestens für Sie aufgestellt

KPMG Law berät Unternehmen aller Größen und Branchen strategisch und operativ in sämtlichen Fragen zum Einsatz von Hinweisgebersystemen, national und international mit Unterstützung des KPMG Netzwerks unabhängiger Mitgliedsfirmen.
Betriebswirtschaftliche Beratungsdienstleistungen werden durch die KPMG AG Wirtschaftsprüfungsgesellschaft (KPMG AG) erbracht. Ein interdisziplinär aufgestelltes Team mit erfahrenen Experten unterstützt Ihr Unternehmen bei der Implementierung und dem laufenden Betrieb Ihres Hinweisgebersystems. So senken Sie Ihr Schadensrisiko! Gerne stehen wir Ihnen für Ihre Fragen oder ein erstes Gespräch zur Verfügung.

  • Wer ist von der neuen Whistleblower-Richtlinie betroffen?

    Die im Oktober 2019 vom Europäischen Rat angenommene EU-Richtlinie zum „Schutz von Personen, die Verstöße gegen das Unionsrecht melden“, verpflichtet bestimmte Unternehmen zukünftig zur Einrichtung interner Meldekanäle. Der Meldeprozess muss zudem die Nachverfolgung des Hinweises sicherstellen und einen Verantwortlichen hierfür benennen. Die Richtlinie ist bis zum 17. Dezember 2021 in nationales Recht umzusetzen. Unternehmen mit 50 bis 249 Mitarbeitern haben für die Implementierung von internen Meldekanälen bis zum 17. Dezember 2023 Zeit.

  • Für wen gilt diese Richtlinie?

    Private Unternehmen mit mehr als 50 Mitarbeitern sind verpflichtet, ein internes Meldesystem einzurichten, um Hinweise entgegenzunehmen. Außerdem haben auch Unternehmen bestimmter Branchen (z.B. Finanzbranche) dieser Pflicht nachzugehen, unabhängig von ihrer Größe. Diese Pflicht trifft auch alle staatlichen Verwaltungsstellen, alle regionalen Verwaltungen und Dienststellen, Gemeinden mit mehr als 10.000 Einwohnern sowie juristische Personen öffentlichen Rechts.

  • Anforderungen aus der Richtlinie

    Einrichtung transparenter Meldekanäle und vertrauenswürdiger Kommunikationswege. Die betroffenen Organisationen müssen einen internen Meldeprozess implementieren, der Internen und Externen die Möglichkeit gibt, ihre Hinweise anonym zu melden. Die Hinweise müssen telefonisch, schriftlich oder persönlich abgegeben werden. Die Nachverfolgung der Hinweise muss sichergestellt sein und ein Verantwortlicher hierfür innerhalb der Organisation muss benannt und entsprechend geschult werden. Die Informationen zum Meldeprozess müssen transparent und leicht zugänglich bereitgestellt werden.

  • Mehrstufiges Hinweisgebersystem

    Whistleblower sind angehalten, den Missstand zunächst intern zu melden (sofern hierzu angemessene Meldekanäle existieren). Wird die Meldung nicht innerhalb von drei Monaten von der zuständigen Stelle bearbeitet, dürfen sich Whistleblower an eine zuständige Behörde wenden.

    Unter bestimmten Umständen können Whistleblower dies auch direkt tun: Z.B. wenn der zu meldende Verstoß eine unmittelbare oder offenkundige Gefährdung des öffentlichen Interesses darstellen kann, so z. B. in einer Notsituation oder bei Gefahr eines irreversiblen Schadens. In solchen Fällen können Meldungen beispielsweise direkt an die Medien weitergegeben werden.

  • Rückmeldepflicht innerhalb einer angemessenen Frist

    Es besteht die Anforderung, dass der Whistleblower innerhalb von drei Monaten über die eingeleiteten Maßnahmen aufgrund seiner Meldung zu informieren ist.
    Schutz und Mechanismen zur Vermeidung von Vergeltungsmaßnahmen.
    Die Richtlinie hat das Ziel, Whistleblower vor Vergeltungsmaßnahmen, wie Belästigungen am Arbeitsplatz, Diskriminierungen oder Entlassungen zu schützen.
    Zudem gilt die Beweislastumkehr, das heißt, sollte es aufgrund von Repressalien, die ein Whistleblower erlitten hat, zu einem Gerichtsverfahren kommen, so muss der Arbeitgeber nachweisen, dass die erlittene Benachteiligung in keinem Zusammenhang mit der Meldung des Whistleblowers steht. Personen, die den Whistleblower unterstützt haben (zB Vertrauenspersonen, Kollegen oder Verwandte), sind ebenso geschützt.

  • Pflicht zur Einführung von Sanktionen

    Für den Fall, dass Arbeitgeber ihren Pflichten nicht nachkommen, die Anonymität der Whistleblower nicht gewährleisten oder keine Folgemaßnahmen einleiten, müssen sie mit Sanktionen rechnen. Welche genau, hängt von der konkreten Umsetzung des Gesetzgebers ab.

    Wie das Hinweisgebersystem ausgestaltet ist, welche Meldekanäle den Mitarbeitern zur Verfügung stehen sollten und wie die Bearbeitung und Handhabung der Meldungen erfolgt, sollte auf jedes Unternehmen individuell angepasst werden.

  • KPMG Integrity Service

    Daher hat KPMG Law gemeinsam mit den Experten der KPMG AG Wirtschaftsprüfungsgesellschaft und EQS den „KPMG Integrity Service“ entwickelt. Es handelt sich hierbei um ein webbasiertes Hinweisgebersystem, auf welches Mitarbeiter einfach und unkompliziert über einen Link zugreifen können. Die Plattform steht in bis zu 60 Sprachen zur Verfügung und ist daher auch für international agierende Unternehmen bestens geeignet. Weiterhin ermöglicht das System eine Kommunikation mit dem Hinweisgeber – unter Wahrung seiner vollen Anonymität.

    Unsere Experten unterstützen Sie bei der Implementierung und dem laufenden Betrieb des Hinweisgebersystems: Vom Hinweiseingang über interne Untersuchungen bis hin zur Vertretung in Gerichtsverfahren decken wir weltweit und aus einer Hand alle technischen und rechtlichen Aspekte rund um das Thema Whistleblowing ab.

    Unser KPMG Integrity Service stellt einen vollumfassenden Service dar. Wir übernehmen Konzeptionierung, technische Einrichtung und Wartung des Systems und bieten zusätzlich auch das Case Management an. Unternehmen erhalten in vordefinierten Abständen aussagekräftige Berichte und Reports sowie Statusberichte für die Geschäftsführung oder den Vorstand. Durch die Zusammenarbeit der Bereiche Compliance und Datenschutz, Forensic und Law kann aus einer Hand ein individueller Full Service, vom Case Management über die rechtliche Beratung bis hin zur Durchführung unternehmensinterner Untersuchungen im Anlassfall, angeboten werden. Zudem sind wir mithilfe unserer weltweiten FairCall-Center 365 Tage im Jahr für Sie erreichbar. Hierdurch ist Ihr Unternehmen in der Lage, Anliegen rechtzeitig entgegenzunehmen, zu bearbeiten und angemessen zu reagieren.

    Der KPMG Integrity Service kombiniert die Leistungen von KPMG Faircall, KPMG Law, KPMG Forensic und der EQS Group zu einer ganzheitlichen Lösung.

Explore #more

16.07.2021 | KPMG Law Insights

Produktpiraterie – Produktpiraterie – Eine wachsende globale Herausforderung und deren Bekämpfung

Produktpiraterie – Eine wachsende globale Herausforderung und deren Bekämpfung I. Einleitung Produktpiraterie stellt eine wachsende globale Herausforderung für Unternehmen vieler Branchen dar. Gefälschte Produkte bedeuten Schäden für Image, Umsatz, Arbeitsplätze und sogar Gefahren für Verbraucher. Unternehmen begegnen hier einer internationalen Herausforderung, denn die gefälschten Produkte stammen oft aus dem (außereuropäischen) Ausland, die Täter verkaufen die […]

Ihre Ansprechpartner

Dr. Bernd Federmann

Partner
Standortleiter Stuttgart
Leiter Compliance, Steuer- & Wirtschaftsrecht

Theodor-Heuss-Straße 5
70174 Stuttgart

tel: 0711 781923418
bfedermann@kpmg-law.com

Andreas Pruksch

Senior Manager

Theodor-Heuss-Straße 5
70174 Stuttgart

tel: +49 711 781923451
apruksch@kpmg-law.com

© 2022 KPMG Law Rechtsanwaltsgesellschaft mbH, assoziiert mit der KPMG AG Wirtschaftsprüfungsgesellschaft, einer Aktiengesellschaft nach deutschem Recht und ein Mitglied der globalen KPMG-Organisation unabhängiger Mitgliedsfirmen, die KPMG International Limited, einer Private English Company Limited by Guarantee, angeschlossen sind. Alle Rechte vorbehalten. Für weitere Einzelheiten über die Struktur der globalen Organisation von KPMG besuchen Sie bitte https://home.kpmg/governance.

KPMG International erbringt keine Dienstleistungen für Kunden. Keine Mitgliedsfirma ist befugt, KPMG International oder eine andere Mitgliedsfirma gegenüber Dritten zu verpflichten oder vertraglich zu binden, ebenso wie KPMG International nicht autorisiert ist, andere Mitgliedsfirmen zu verpflichten oder vertraglich zu binden.

Scroll